top of page

Six of Crows duology review (spoiler-free)

Updated: Apr 19, 2022

Hello readers! a few months ago I finished the Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo so I thought I would post a review on both the books in the series. After my friend asking me to read this book forever, I finally decided to, and boy do I regret not reading it sooner. This book reached my expectations especially for being my first YA fantasy read.

World and Magic

The world that Leigh created for the Grishaverse is absolutely amazing and one of the best developed worlds I have ever experienced with all the different lands such as Ravka, Kerch, Fjerda, and many more that all have different cultures that are all fully developed. The magic system of the Grishaverse is very important to the story in all the books in the Grishaverse, yet it’s still very easy to understand with the three main orders being Corporalki, Etherealki, and Materialki and each having subcategories that you will be able to follow if this is your first fantasy read.


Characters

Throughout Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom we follow Kaz Brekker, Inej Ghafa, Jesper Fahey, Nina Zenik, Matthias Helvar, and Wylan Van Eck throughout these two books. In the first book Six of Crows, we follow our main characters as they plan and go through with one impossible heist that comes with a reward Kaz can't turn down no matter the risk of the task. While you read this book you get to read from 5 out of 6 main characters' points of view, those characters are Kaz, Inej, Jesper, Nina and Matthias but don't worry we still get plenty of Wylan. Leigh Bardugo gave these characters such amazing backstories that touched my heart and as you read the series you can see how the crows become a family (the found family troupe in this duology is amazing) and help each other recover from their past. so overall these characters have to be some of my favorite that I have ever read about.


Plot

Each of the books in the series has amazing plots that will leave you wanting more. The main plot of Six of Crows is Kaz Brekker has been offered 30 million kruge (Krudge is the currency in the grishaverse) to break into the Ice Court, one of the most secure and dangerous places in Grisha. We follow as Kaz builds his crew and as they break into the ice court while they also deal with unexpected problems along the journey. In book 2, Crooked Kingdom we see what happened after the ice court heist when they run into trouble with Wylan's father, Jan Van Eck. We also get to see how their own city now sees the crows after the big heist and how they struggle to survive. That is really all I can say about the plot without spoilers but if there is anything you want to know about the books please leave a comment.


Age rating

I would say this book is 12+ but it depends if you can handle gore, violence, and strong language. I would also recommend looking up the trigger warnings for both books just to make sure there is nothing that triggers you.


Star ratings

Six of Crows: 5/5

Crooked Kingdom: 5/5




36 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Welcome

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page